As the premier rural health care delivery network in northern Iowa and southern Minnesota, Mercy Health Network – North Iowa spans 14 counties across northern Iowa and consists of Mercy Medical Center – North Iowa, a network of eight rural primary care hospitals, Mercy Clinics (a primary care and specialty physician network), a home health agency, a hospice, a senior services agency, a regional referral laboratory, regional rehabilitation and diagnostic technology services, pharmacies, an emergency services network and a variety of other health care services.

Mercy Clinics

An integral part of the Mercy Health Network – North Iowa is Mercy Clinics. Over the years, Mercy Clinics has grown to 46 clinics in 32 North Iowa communities.

In addition to family practitioners, Mercy Clinics includes eleven specialty clinics with physicians specializing in internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, dermatology, occupational health, women’s health, bariatrics, diabetes, kidney, and family practice residency.

Mercy Clinics have 198 physicians and mid-level providers (nurse practitioners and physician assistants) including: family practitioners, pediatricians, general surgeons, internists, optometrists, occupational medicine physicians, and specialists.

Hospice of North Iowa

A partner with Mercy Health Network – North Iowa since 1997, Hospice of North Iowa enhances the quality of life for dying and grieving persons and the community through the provision of hospice supportive care services and education.

Hospice care is usually provided in the home or a home-like setting by an interdisciplinary team of health care professionals and volunteers. Hospice care includes medical and nursing care, emotional and spiritual counseling, volunteer services, and bereavement follow-up. The hospice inpatient unit opened in June 1992 and became the first freestanding hospice inpatient unit in the state of Iowa. More than 6,300 people have been served since its opening. The inpatient unit is an alternative for Hospice of North Iowa’s patients when needs cannot be met in ttheir home setting. Patients may access the unit for acute care, respite care, and residential care.

Hospice of North Iowa’s office is in Mason City providing services to ten counties in North Central Iowa. Hospice of North Iowa works cooperatively with other health care facilities and organizations throughout its service area.

Through the years, Hospice of North Iowa has been a leader in developing new ways to improve end-of-life care and grief services for the citizens of North Central Iowa. Today, Hospice of North Iowa has become one of the largest and strongly supported hospice programs in the state of Iowa.


Primary Care Hospitals

Mercy Health Network – North Iowa spans 14 counties in northern Iowa and includes eight rural hospitals that provide primary care and emergency services.

These community hospitals offer quality health care and yet are still able to take advantage of all the resources of a major referral center such as Mercy Medical Center – North Iowa. These hospitals include:

  • Ellsworth Municipal Hospital, Iowa Falls
  • Franklin General Hospital, Hampton
  • Hancock County Health Services/Hancock County
  • Memorial Hospital, Britt
  • Kossuth Regional Health Center, Algona
  • Mercy Medical Center – New Hampton, New Hampton
  • Mitchell County Regional Health Center, Osage
  • Palo Alto County Health Services, Emmetsburg
  • Regional Health Services of Howard County, Cresco

Find a Physician